THE RIGHT ONES GET ARRESTED IN WORK COMP FRAUD CASE I’m tired of hearing everyone say injured workers are committing so much workers’ compensation fraud. That people who are on workers’ compensation are faking and reaping the benefits. What benefits?? Do they even know what little benefits an injured worker in Florida is entitled to..
WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU REACH MAXIMUM MEDICAL IMPROVEMENT IN A FLORIDA WORK COMP CLAIM Eventually, whether you agree or disagree, you will be placed at Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) after a Florida workers’ compensation accident. In fact, the law states that your doctor is required to place you at MMI on or before two-years after.
TEN TIPS AFTER A FLORIDA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INJURY If you have been injured at work in Florida, the Florida Workers’ Compensation Law set forth what rights and responsibilities you have. It is important that you consult with a lawyer who handles Florida work comp claims. Attorney Matthew Noyes’ law firm has helped those injured at.
WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT SCIATICA Many people involved in car accidents and work injuries in Florida are diagnosed with sciatica. However, they are not given further information about the condition. Below is additional information about sciatica. However, to get more specific information, you should consult with your doctor. Also, if your sciatica was.
MILLIONS OF INJURED WORKERS DO UNREPORTED A recently published study in the Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine estimates that the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) under-reports the number of injured and diseased workers by 66%, meaning that the 2003 reported total of 4.4 million workers was really 13.2 million injured workers. Researchers from.
Insurance Companies, Enough is Enough!! Last week, Florida Governor Charlie Crist said something my clients and I have been saying for years if not decades–we are tired of funding insurance companies’ record profits!! “Let me remind you where we’re coming from. This insurance industry this past year has enjoyed a $60 billion profit. $60 billion,”.
GETTING PAID IN A FLORIDA WORK COMP CLAIM Believe it or not, when a worker is injured in a workers compensation claim in Florida, they are not guaranteed payment of wage benefits for every day they are out of work. Under Florida law, you are not paid for the first seven days of disability. However,.
When Do You Get to Pick The Doctor in a Florida Work Comp Claim? If you have a Florida workers’ compensation claim, there are very few times that you have the right to choose the doctor who will examine you. Almost always, you are stuck with the doctor that the insurance company sends you to..
Florida Determines Cap on Workers’ Compensation Weekly Wage Benefits for 2007 An injured worker in Florida is only entitled to two-third of his average weekly wage over the 13-weeks prior to the work injury. However, according to Florida’s workers’ compensation law, the maximum weekly compensation rate for work-related injuries and illnesses shall be equal to.
What You Need to Know About Your Herniated Disk Many of my clients suffer a herniated disk after a car accident or work injury. Until they are diagnosed with a herniated disk, many victims of a car accident or work injury do not even know what a herniated disk is. I hope this article answers.
Overview of Denied Claim Procedure Benefits under the Florida Workers’ Compensation law have been dramatically reduced over the past several years. If you are involved in a work-related accident, it is crucial that you seek advice as to what your rights and benefits are after an injury. If you need assistance in obtaining workers’ benefits.
There is No Compensation in Florida’s Workers’ Compensation for Pain and Suffering Because workers’ compensation is a “no fault” system, one of the rights taken away from injured workers for receiving workers’ compensation benefits was the right to recover for damages due to “pain and suffering.” The insurance companies and legislators argue that since the.
Website Provides Employer’s Workers’ Compensation Information Some times, injured workers in Florida cannot determine who is supposed to pay work comp benefits after a work accident. Too many times, an employer is not willing to provide the name and telephone number or the workers’ compensation company’s name and telephone. However, this information may be just.
Injured Workers & Insurance Company’s Responsibilities Under Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Law Florida’s Division of Workers’ Compensation has set forth the following responsibilities of both the insurance company and the injured worker: Insurance Company’s Responsibilities To provide medical treatment in a timely fashion. To pay wage benefits on a timely basis. To timely pay medical bills..
Very Recent Case Clarifies “Change of Doctor” Rule in Florida Workers’ Compensation Cases On December 29, 2006, Florida’s First District Court of Appeals decided a case called Butler v. Bay Center/Chubb Insurance Company. The Court affirmed a ruling that was entered against an injured worker relating to medical care under Florida’s workers’ compensation law. In.
A Road Map to Florida Workers’ Compensation Benefits If you are injured on the job in Florida, you may be entitled to various benefits under the Florida Workers’ Compensation system. What benefits you are entitled to depends on the date of your accident. Because the benefits are so limited under the law, it is important.
Workers’ Compensation Benefits May Be Denied if Employee Detours and Deviations From Business Trip Employees may be called upon by their employer to travel for a business purpose. Such travel is generally considered to be in the course of employment and, if injured, the employee will be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. However, if the.
Workers’ Compensation Mileage Reimbursement Rate Increased Florida lawmakers recently increased the state’s mileage reimbursement rate from 29 cents per mile to 44 and one-half cents per mile. Although the employers and carriers are not required to follow the state’s mileage reimbursement rate, the state rate has long served as a guideline throughout the industry to.
Frequently Asked Questions Relating to Florida’s Workers’ Compensation Law For More Information on Florida Workers’ Compensation Law, Click Here. 1. Is my employer required to have workers’ compensation insurance? Every employer in the State of Florida who employs four or more employees, part-time or full-time, is required to comply with the provision of the workers’.
Change the Law or Let Injured Workers Sue Their Employers Today, almost all injured workers are prohibited from filing a negligence lawsuit against their employer for causing their injuries if the injured worker is entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. Unfortunately, the workers’ compensation law does not permit the injured to opt out. Rather, it requires.