Seat belts are required in Florida; but, where in the car are they required?
I recently received a message from Jake Reis, a high school student at Columbus High School in Miami. He advises me that his school was recently rocked by the near death of one student and the death of another because they were not wearing seat belts in the back seat of a car. He goes on to explain that he and his brother were astounded to learn that seat belts are not required in the state of Florida in the back seat if you are over 18. He’s right. Under Florida law, it is unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle in this state unless each passenger and the operator of the vehicle under the age of 18 years are restrained by a safety belt or by a child restraint device and for any person 18 years of age or older to be a passenger in the front seat of a motor vehicle unless such person is restrained by a safety belt when the vehicle is in motion. This means that Florida law does NOT require back seat passengers over the age of 18 to wear seat belts.
Jake and his friends are trying to do something about it. They launched a campaign “Do It in the Back Seat” and created a fun public service announcement. Check out the campaign and their PSA. Afterwards, sign their petition as they are trying to get 10,000 signatures to take to Tallahassee to encourage lawmakers to amend the law to make seat belt mandatory for all passengers in the back seat.
Good job, Jake! Way to try to make a difference!
Personal Injury Attorney Matthew Noyes represents those injured in car accidents, motorcycle crashes, bicycle accidents, pedestrian accidents and other types of personal injury matters. He is a named partner at the Tampa Bay law firm of Perenich Caulfield Avril Noyes – one of the oldest personal injury law firms in Pinellas County. Call Attorney Matthew Noyes now at 727-796-8282 or complete the form on this page or simply click here to schedule a free case consultation.