It is estimated that 4,500 car accidents in Florida in 2012 were related to cell phone use while driving. Will this change after tomorrow?
Tomorrow, October 1st, texting while driving will be illegal in Florida, with some exceptions. Florida will become the 41st state to ban the practice of texting while driving, but some say the law does not go far enough. The new law makes texting while driving a secondary offense, meaning that drivers cannot be pulled over on that basis alone, but as part of another offense. Also, the ban allows drivers to text while stopped, whether in a traffic jam or at a stop sign as well as permitting drivers to send a text message to report the commission of a crime. Some same the penalty is too light as well. The fine is $30 for a first offense and law enforcement officers will not typically be allowed to confiscate the cell phone.
According to Distraction.gov, sending or reading a text message while driving removes a driver’s focus on the road and surroundings for an average of 4.6 seconds, or roughly the equivalent of driving the length of a football field at 55 miles per hour entirely blind.
So, what do you think? Is the law going to make a difference in reducing car accidents in Florida?
Drive safely and watch out for those who don’t.
Personal Injury Attorney Matthew Noyes represents those injured in car accidents, motorcycle crashes, bicycle accidents, pedestrian accidents and other types of personal injury matters. His Clearwater law firm – Perenich Caulfield Avril Noyes – is one of the oldest personal injury law firms in Pinellas County. Call Attorney Matthew Noyes now at 727-796-8282 or simply click here to schedule a free case consultation.